Introverts Rule!

This is how I’ve been feeling lately.  I’m an introvert at heart – I love to perform in front of people and to teach, but I hate one-on-one conversations.  I love to be in the middle of a large crowd, but I can’t wait to go home and recharge.  I love to communicate through emails, but I’m afraid of the phone.  I love to help others express their ideas through words, but I struggle with expressing my own inner thoughts – unless it’s through creative writing.  Someday – when I don’t have to help pay the bills – I’ll let the whole world know what’s going on inside my head through stories.

I am so grateful and blessed to have a spouse who sees my introversion as a strength (although sometimes frustrating) and a complement to his usual extroversion.  I am also thankful for parents who didn’t discourage my quietness, but made me believe it to be a great quality.

This TED talk really resonates with me.  Watch it; then tell me your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

