Opinions About Opinions

Part of what makes a blogger’s job easy is being opinionated.  Having an opinion about an issue creates a plethora of inspiration from which to draw.  You get an opinionated person on a roll about something, and the words keep flowing.  (That was putting it nicely.)

I, on the other hand, have the opposite problem.  I am pretty neutral about most things; ask my husband.  It can drive him batty sometimes because I don’t have much to say in response to his attempts at conversation.  But, in addition to my blah-dom being an innate condition, I’ve been burned one too many times by people who aren’t afraid to voice their opinions.  In my eyes, it’s not very attractive if it alienates one set of people just for being themselves.

Now, I’m not saying you should remain quiet about people who are breaking the law, being abusive, or are being just plain jerks.  Some behaviors are obviously inexcusable.  Yet, why bash someone for not being a particularly neat person?  Why judge a person for not believing the same principles you believe?  I guess if I had a strong opinion about something, it would be about people who have strong opinions and loudly voice them at the cost of someone’s dignity.

My second opinion that I hold firmly to is lack of attention to the English language.  I guess that’s what makes me a good proofer.  Seeing a web page full of grammatical choices that were obviously overlooked is like chewing on paper to me.  It makes me cringe.  Now, I’m not judging the person who made those errors – I understand that English grammar rules don’t come naturally to every person.  We all have our own strengths.  But I am passionate about the need for businesses to pay attention to the image they portray in their online content.  I am baffled by billboard signs, newspaper headlines, or even hastily-painted garage sale signs that contain spelling or grammatical errors.  I’m not talking about the tiny long-forgotten rules of where to put all the commas.  It’s the commonly used words and sentence structure!  What is the purpose of having guidelines for a language if they’re not followed?

Yet, even as I’m expressing my opinion regarding a small issue such as grammar, I’m feeling nervous about it.  I REALLY hate to rock the boat!  I would rather offer up my help to solve this self-perceived problem.  Maybe that’s why I don’t nurture any beginnings of opinions elsewhere.  I know I don’t have a solution, so I keep my mouth shut – unless it has to do with my children – solution or no solution.  But that’s another blog page all to itself!

I’m not so naïve to think that I don’t have opinions – I just don’t have them on the tip of my tongue – until I get agitated at the lady in the quiet jury assembly room who thinks it’s an honor for all 400 of us to hear her phone conversation.  (Yes, that’s where I am.  In a place where I’m about to give my opinion – but based on the facts.)

Hmmm, for a topic about having nothing to say, this has been my longest post!

At the risk of exposing myself to your opinions, what is your opinion about opinions?

11 thoughts on “Opinions About Opinions

  1. Okay I’m keeping this short as it is now the third time I am trying to leave a post. 😦
    Love the post. Love the photo. I am not great at grammar so excuse me if I offend you. LOL! I used to not speak my voice and be opinionated. I come from a very quiet family. Once I became an entrepreneur I had to learn to be an extrovert and put myself out there. It was a skill I needed to build but I have so much fun with now. I love to share, I love to speak my voice, I love to give my opinion. It was fun reading your post. Thanks.

    • Thank you. I found this post both frightening and freeing to write. Tapping into my inner extrovert – somewhere deep down in there!

  2. I have all kinds of opinions, but I choose my battles wisely. There is a zillion positions to be taken and I’m not going to get hung-up on the small stuff.
    I don’t really give too much consideration to rash or egocentric opinions, but I do respect those that are more objective with a premise of facts and experiences, even if it’s an opinion contrary to my own.
    I used to have a long line of set categorical stances on certain aspects of theology, but the more I learn about God, the less I tend to think I know as much as I thought I did…

    • I know… the world can’t really turn without opinions.
      I’ve been there with theology, too. So much behind that statement…

  3. I have to admit this made me laugh. I agree with you on the grammar issue. Thank god for spell check! I just spelled grammar wrong! And when I feel passionately about something, my opinion is quite strong. I do try to be respectful of those with a different opinion. One’s mind can’t be changed with hostility. However, I am not quiet and probably not respectful when one justifies their stand with lies and misinformation. That sends me over the edge.

    Susan Berland
    http://susan-berland.com

  4. Well, Paige, I am very vocal and opinionated and not afraid to speak up. Sometimes this gets me in trouble, but most of the time it allows others to know exactly where they stand with me, which many people appreciate. Grammar, or bad grammer drives me crazy. As a spelling bee champion in high school, I am all too aware of misspellings and commas placed in the wrong part of a sentence. There is nothing wrong with being you. I applaud that. You must be comfortable with yourself and never apologize. This was a great post!

  5. Yes, you should have an opinion. In fact I used to keep quiet, but I felt I did myself a disservice when I did. But the best part of the blog was the grammar. I’m no expert, but I can’t believe some emails and ads I see! In fact did you hear that Starbucks miss spelled vegetable in a recent promotion!?

  6. I had to comment because I am a supporter of anybody who still cares about grammar and detail. Sadly, the language most people use is so rife with punctuation, spelling, and grammar errors, one has to wonder if caring about this kind of detail is a hopeless cause. Children are growing up reading signs everywhere that use apostrophes for plurals, and nearly everybody has forgotten the distinction between “its” and “it’s” (all hope is lost or that one).

    Most of the time I just mutter to myself about this. I know there are matters of more significance to the world, and opinions about those should probably be louder.

    Judy Stone-Goldman
    The Reflective Writer
    http://www.thereflectivewriter.com
    Personal-Professional Balance Through Writing

Leave a comment